HealthNest by MSD - Bringing health literacy to life

HealthNest event | May 10, 2022

On May 10, 2022, HealthNest, the platform for exchange and discussion on health literacy, organized its first co-reflection event, on the theme: 'Health literacy in Belgium: from ideas to action'.

HealthNest invited all actors active in the field of health literacy to participate in developing ideas or in discussing how existing initiatives can keep on growing. The aim of the event was to co-create sustainable changes by sharing experiences, ideas, and initiatives to enable a crucial transformation of our healthcare system.

Professor Stephan Van den Broucke (UCL), chairman of the HealthNest board, opened the event and gave attendees an insight into the organization’s operations and ambitions. He outlined the challenges at hand, namely, how to strengthen health literacy in Belgium and how to create a lasting impact.

Based on inspiring testimonies by Ann Trappers, Content Coordinator at Foyer, and Tinne Vandensande, KBS/FRB, the attendees were immersed into health literacy practices and its significant challenges. From her experience at the Brussels-based organization Foyer, Ms. Trappers shared her insights regarding the topic of intercultural mediation in health care. On the other hand, Ms. Vandensande explained the initiatives of KBS/RFB on improving Health Literacy

In preparation of the working groups, the results of the Impact Model 2022 were presented by Kristel Van Ael (Namahn). The strategic results of the topic “health information offering” were the starting point for the working groups which aims was to explore possible projects and collaborations.

Topics of the 5 working groups:
  • Evidence-based health information offering
  • Consistent and comprehensive health information offering, bringing the same message
  • Ensure that patients’ personal contacts are aware of their health information
  • Health information adapted to mindset, culture, beliefs
  • Offering tailored-made health information to (minority) target groups

All participants brainstormed and mapped possible initiatives, challenges, collaborations, capacities and needs. These results were mapped by Namahn, including gaps and capacities. The interactive map could be updated by participants even after the event to ensure that everyone had a permanent overview on the progress, new capabilities and needs of specific HealthNest initiatives. (Initiative Map)

The first HealthNest event was concluded by a plenary feedback moment where the inputs of the various working groups were summarized. In addition, the community also looked ahead to the future evolution of HealthNest.

During the event, attended by over 30 organizations active in healthcare, participants had the opportunity to meet many health literacy professionals and challenge them about their needs, obstacles, ambitions, and resources. In doing so, we were able to identify about 15 key initiatives to promote health literacy in Belgium in the near future. In addition to these new understandings and insights, participants could also look back on renewed contacts with appropriate experts and other project leaders.

DIGITAL EVENT | NOVEMBER 15, 2022

One in three Belgians struggle to obtain, understand and use health information. HealthNest's ambition is to reverse this trend in collaboration with important actors in our healthcare system.

Therefore, we invite you, along with the other HealthNest supporters, to contribute further to the development of innovative ideas, or to support existing initiatives to make an even bigger impact on this complex challenge. Only together we can achieve sustainable change for patients and civilians.

To build on the initiatives and contacts made during our previous meeting in May 2022, we invite you to our next digital event on November 15 (10:00-12:00) where we will reflect on the current status of various selected projects.

Under the guidance of Professor Stephan Van den Broucke and Kristel Van Ael, we briefly return to the initiatives that the HealthNest supporters formulated in May 2022.

In parallel breakout sessions, we will zoom in on the progress which has been made regarding the challenges which were identified during the event in May 2022. The main goal is to create further links among participants by sharing insights on how to put ideas further into practice.

Finally, we will look ahead to HealthNest's ambitions in 2023

PROGRAM

10u00 Welcome
10u05 Introduction by Professor Stephan Van den Broucke (UCL and Chairman of HealthNest board) and Kristel Van Ael (Namahn)
10u20 Start breakout sessions
11u15 Feedback sessions
11u45 Closing remarks
12u00 End

REGISTRATION

If you want to participate in this digital event, you can register until November 4th via this google form. If you would like to give an update (e.g. progress, insights, obstacles and/or questions) during the breakout sessions of the health literacy project, in which you are active, you can also indicate this in the form.

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

  • Digital event – free of registration, but please register in advance to obtain the conference link.
  • Online registration until November 4th.
  • You will receive the conference link and corresponding information a few days before the event.
  • If you would like to give an update of your project, please indicate this in the form or contact jesse@growth-inc.be
  • Contact or questions

HealthNest by MSD - Bringing health literacy to life

Événement HealthNest | 10 mai 2022

Le 10 mai 2022, HealthNest, la plateforme d'échange et de discussion sur la littératie en santé, a organisé son premier événement de coréflexion, sur le thème : "La littératie en santé en Belgique : des idées à l'action".

HealthNest a invité tous les acteurs actifs dans le domaine de la littératie en santé à participer au développement d'idées ou à discuter de la manière dont les initiatives existantes peuvent continuer à se développer. L'objectif de l'événement était de co-créer des changements durables en partageant des expériences, des idées et des initiatives pour permettre une transformation cruciale de notre système de santé.

Le professeur Stephan Van den Broucke (UCL), président du conseil d'administration de HealthNest, a ouvert l'événement et a donné aux participants un aperçu des activités et des ambitions de l'organisation. Il a souligné les défis à relever, à savoir comment renforcer la culture sanitaire en Belgique et comment créer un impact durable.

Sur la base des témoignages inspirants d'Ann Trappers, coordinatrice du contenu chez Foyer, et de Tinne Vandensande, KBS/FRB, les participants ont été plongés dans les pratiques de la littératie en matière de santé et ses défis importants. Forte de son expérience au sein de l'organisation bruxelloise Foyer, Mme Trappers a partagé ses idées sur le thème de la médiation interculturelle dans le domaine de la santé. D'autre part, Mme Vandensande a expliqué les initiatives de KBS/RFB pour améliorer la littératie en santé dans les soins primaires.

En préparation des groupes de travail, les résultats de l'Impact Model 2022 ont été présentés par Kristel Van Ael (Namahn). Les résultats stratégiques du thème "offre d'informations sur la santé" ont été le point de départ des groupes de travail dont l'objectif était d'explorer les projets et collaborations possibles.

Thèmes des 5 groupes de travail:
  • Offre d'informations sanitaires fondées sur des données probantes
  • Une offre d'informations sanitaires cohérente et complète, véhiculant le même message
  • Veiller à ce que les contacts personnels des patients soient informés de leurs informations de santé.
  • Informations sur la santé adaptées à l'état d'esprit, à la culture et aux croyances
  • Offrir des informations sanitaires sur mesure à des groupes cibles (minoritaires)

Tous les participants ont réfléchi et dressé la carte des initiatives, défis, collaborations, capacités et besoins possibles. Ces résultats ont été cartographiés par Namahn, y compris les lacunes et les capacités. La carte interactive pourrait être mise à jour par les participants même après l'événement afin de s'assurer que chacun ait une vue d'ensemble permanente sur les progrès, les nouvelles capacités et les besoins des initiatives spécifiques de HealthNest. (carte des initiatives de Nahman)

Le premier événement HealthNest a été conclu par un moment de retour d'information en plénière où les contributions des différents groupes de travail ont été résumées. En outre, la communauté s'est également penchée sur l'évolution future de HealthNest. Au cours de cet événement, auquel ont participé plus de 30 organisations actives dans le domaine des soins de santé, les participants ont eu l'occasion de rencontrer de nombreux professionnels de la littératie en santé et de les interpeller sur leurs besoins, leurs obstacles, leurs ambitions et leurs ressources. Ce faisant, nous avons pu identifier une quinzaine d'initiatives clés pour promouvoir la littératie en santé en Belgique dans un avenir proche. En plus de ces nouvelles compréhensions et perspectives, les participants ont pu se réjouir des contacts renouvelés avec des experts appropriés et d'autres chefs de projet.

ÉVÉNEMENT NUMÉRIQUE | 15 NOVEMBRE 2022

Un Belge sur trois a du mal à obtenir, comprendre et utiliser des informations sur la santé. L'ambition de HealthNest est de renverser cette tendance en collaboration avec des acteurs importants de notre système de santé.

C'est pourquoi nous vous invitons, avec les autres supporters de HealthNest, à contribuer davantage au développement d'idées novatrices, ou à soutenir des initiatives existantes afin d'avoir un impact encore plus grand sur ce défi complexe. Ce n'est qu'ensemble que nous pourrons obtenir des changements durables pour les patients et les civils.

Afin de poursuivre les initiatives et les contacts établis lors de notre précédente réunion en mai 2022, nous vous invitons à notre prochain événement numérique le 15 novembre (10h00-12h00) où nous réfléchirons à l'état actuel de divers projets sélectionnés.

Sous la direction du professeur Stephan Van den Broucke et de Kristel Van Ael, nous revenons brièvement sur les initiatives que les partisans de HealthNest ont formulées en mai 2022.

Au cours de sessions parallèles, nous examinerons les progrès réalisés par rapport aux défis identifiés lors de l'événement de mai 2022. L'objectif principal est de créer de nouveaux liens entre les participants en partageant des idées sur la manière de mettre les idées en pratique.

Enfin, nous nous pencherons sur les ambitions de HealthNest en 2023.

PROGRAMME

10u00 Bienvenue
10u05 Introduction par le professeur Stephan Van den Broucke (UCL et président du conseil d'administration de HealthNest) et Kristel Van Ael (Namahn)
10u20 Début des sessions en petits groupes
11u15 Sessions de feedback
11u45 Remarques finales
12u00 Fin

INSCRIPTION

Si vous souhaitez participer à cet événement numérique, vous pouvez vous inscrire jusqu'au 4 novembre via ce formulaire google. Si vous souhaitez faire le point (par exemple sur les progrès, les idées, les obstacles et/ou les questions) pendant les séances de discussion du projet de littératie en matière de santé dans lequel vous êtes actif, vous pouvez également l'indiquer dans le formulaire.

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

  • Événement numérique - gratuit, mais veuillez vous inscrire à l'avance pour obtenir le lien de la conférence.
  • Inscription en ligne jusqu'au 4 novembre.
  • Vous recevrez le lien de la conférence et les informations correspondantes quelques jours avant l'événement.
  • Si vous souhaitez faire le point sur votre projet, veuillez l'indiquer dans le formulaire ou contacter jesse@growth-inc.be
  • Contact ou questions
    • Els Verhaegen, directrice principale de la communication Growth Inc, Els@growth_inc.be - 0494718998
    • Jesse Ruysen, responsable junior de la communication Growth Inc, Jesse@growth-inc.be - 0488576952